AIMS-COECRS Postdoc


 

Position Number

TBA

Faculty/Division

ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies

Campus Location

Townsville

Classification

Academic Level A or B

Fraction

100%

Reports To

Professor Terry Hughes

Number of positions supervised

Directly:  0

 

 

OVERVIEW OF POSITION

This position is jointly funded by the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies.

 

The Research Fellow will undertake research in one of the following themes:

  1. The role of  microbes  in coral reef ecosystems.(AIMS contact: David Bourne; d.bourne@aims.gov.au; Centre contact: Bette.Willis@jcu.edu.au, David.Miller@jcu.edu.au)
  2. Modelling coral reef vulnerability and resilience in a changing climate (AIMS contact: Ken Anthony; K.Anthony@aims.gov.au, Centre contact: Sean.Connolly@jcu.edu.au)
  3. Physical and biological drivers of crown-of-thorns starfish outbreaks.(AIMS contact: Katharina Fabricius or Richard Brinkman; K.Fabricius@aims.gov.au; R.Brinkman@aims.gov.au, Centre contact: Morgan.Pratchett@jcu.edu.au )
  4. Ecology of deep coral reefs and submerged shoals in tropical Australia. contact: Andrew Heyward; A.Heyward@aims.gov.au, Centre contact: Sean.Connolly@jcu.edu.au ).

 

PRINCIPAL ACCOUNTABILITIES

  1. Conduct research independently and as part of a team which contributes to the achievement of the aims of the ARC Centre of Excellence
  2. Contribute to improving understanding of the relevant research field.
  3. Work independently and collaborate with Centre staff, AIMS staff and end-users to apply skills to research problems in the study area.
  4. Publish research in high quality journals.
  5. Co-supervise graduate students, if appropriate.

 

GENERIC ACCOUNTABILITIES

There are generic responsibilities that apply to all James Cook University staff. 

  1. The Research Fellow is required to observe the lawful and reasonable directions, policies and decisions of the University Council, understand and comply with the Enterprise Agreement, the Statutes and Rules of the University, the policies and decisions of the University Council and other appropriate University authorities, as in force from time to time.
  2. The Research Fellow is required to demonstrate a personal commitment to ensure personal safety and the safety of others and contribute to the continuous improvement of our WHS performance.  This includes the effective implementation and compliance with James Cook University WHS policies, procedures and safe systems of work, together with all relevant legislation, duties and obligations.  Contribute to the continuous improvement of our WHS performance.
  3. The Research Fellow is required to exercise proper discretion in all matters affecting the well-being of the University which involve public writing or speaking in accordance with the University's Code of Conduct

SELECTION CRITERIA

Key Selection Criteria

  1. PhD in related discipline
  2. Exceptional publication record for stage of career
  3. Evidence of research ability in one or more discipline(s) relevant to the fellowship research area
  4. Established links (national and international) with appropriate research organisations and personnel
  5. Demonstrated effective interpersonal and communication skills.

Desirable Selection Criteria